Andorran cardholder wins Uniplaces Scholarship to live rent-free for a semester

We are very proud to announce that Laia Bardina Galiana, a European Youth Cardholder, is one of the amazing winners of the Uniplaces scholarships. The award acknowledges and celebrates Laia’s incredible work to help others and make a positive impact in the world.

A cardholder of Associació Carnet Jove Andorra, the EYCA member organisation in this country, Laia is studying to become a doctor at the University of Barcelona. Last summer, she decided to volunteer in a children’s hospital in Nepal and did not hesitate to follow her dream. In addition to her hospital work, she also volunteered her time to teach children in orphanages in the area, finding great satisfaction in helping her young students to gain new knowledge and improve their school performance.

m8tuyp9ugmu8 1440x

In recognition of her dedication and kindness, the jury of the Uniplaces Scholarships decided to reward Laia with a rent-free semester so that she can pursue her dream to “keep growing and improving to be able to help as many people as I can and make my ‘little-big’ contribution”.

We are very happy to have played a small part in Laia’s journey: “I would like to mention that I am a member of the Youth Card, which has helped me on several occasions and has supported me to reach my personal goals while helping others.”

The Uniplaces Scholarships – world’s only good deeds scholarship

Powered by Uniplaces, the global brand for student accommodation, the Scholarship is the only global programme to support international youth and student mobility by sponsoring accommodation.

The third edition has received thousands of applications and enjoyed the support of many international organisations in the youth and education sectors, including EYCA, ESN, UNICA and the Class of 2020.

The Scholarship focused on repaying those students who had dedicated their time to helping others with a rent-free semester anywhere in the world they may be studying. Click here to find out more about this year's winners.